Vai al contenuto principale

Discussing a New Edition of the Fragments
International Workshop | Turin, June 25th - 28th 2024

Da: Martedì 25 giugno 2024
Fino a: Venerdì 28 giugno 2024

Pubblicato: Mercoledì 1 maggio 2024 da Christian Vassallo

Turin, June 25th - 28th 2024
University of Turin
Palazzo Nuovo
Sala Seminari, 3rd Floor

Diogenes of Babylon, also known as Diogenes of Seleucia, was a pupil of Chrysippus and, after Zeno of Tarsus, the fifth head of theStoic school in Athens until his death, with Panaetius and Antipater of Tarsus among his students.The dates of his birth and death remain uncertain (ca. 240/230–150/140 BCE). Together with the Academic Carneades and the Peripatetic Critolaus, he participated in the embassy of philosophers sent to Rome to petition for the abolition of the fine of 500 talents imposed on Athens for the sack of Oropos. From the key information abou this surviving treatises,we know that their subjects can be traced back to the three parts into which Diogenes of Babylon divided philosophy, viz. logic, physics, and ethics, as Zeno of Citium had also done. One of the greatest difficulties in reconstructing his thought lies in its transmission: more than half of the testimonies about him, collected by von Arnim (SVF 3.1–126), are transmitted by the Herculaneum papyri, sometimes by rolls that have been in need of a new critical edition for over a century. About 120 years after the publication of the Stoicorum Veterum Fragmenta, we will present and discuss a new edition of the fragments of this Stoic philosopher that will increase by more than 60% the number of known testimonies collected by von Arnim. Thistaskwill significantly enhanceour knowledge of the final phase of the early Stoa and its relation to the so-called Middle Stoa and Platonizing Stoicism.

Organizer: Christian Vassallo
Scientific cooperation: Federico G. Corsi and Fabian Ruge
With the assistance of: Samuele Coen, Rosalba Feo, and Emanuele Zimbardi

With the participation of: Michele Alessandrelli (Rome); Francesca Alesse (Rome); Athena Bazou (Athens); Max Bergamo (Padua/Yale); Luciano Bossina (Padua); Luca Castagnoli (Oxford); Diego De Brasi (Trier); Eudoxia Delli (Athens); Tiziano Dorandi (Paris); Myrto Garani (Athens); Luca Grillo (Notre Dame, USA, IN); Benjamin Harriman (Edinburgh); Ian Hensley (Johnson City, USA, TN); Karlheinz Hülser (Konstanz); Katerina Ierodiakonou (Geneva/Athens); Brad Inwood (Yale); George Karamanolis (Vienna); Ivor Ludlam (Haifa); Maria Protopapas-Marneli (Athens); Gretchen Reydams-Schils (Notre Dame, USA, IN); Stefan Schorn (Leuven); Susanne Töpfer (Turin); Fabio Tutrone (Palermo); Katja M. Vogt (New York); Jula Wildberger (Paris)

ERC-CoG 101086695-APATHES


Ultimo aggiornamento: 13/05/2024 14:45
Non cliccare qui!